Award Nominations Needed — Nominate Our Best!

What people and rides do YOU think should be recognized at the Potomac Pedalers Annual Meeting in January?

As 2016 comes to a close, we want you to reflect back on this year and your rides with the Club. Potomac Pedalers is run by volunteers, people just like you, who give their time to create great rides and ensure your safety and enjoyment. There are always a few who go beyond what you would expect and those folks deserve recognition – but we’ll only find out about them if they’re nominated.

Any member can nominate a Potomac Pedalers member for any of the awards listed below by emailing Matt Birnbaum or any other ExCom member. Please provide the name of the nominee and a brief statement about why the person deserves a particular award. Awardees will be selected by the ExCom. Please submit your nominations by January 2nd.

Descriptions of the awards are as follows:

 Peter LeGrand Good Shepherd AwardSome ride leaders go out of their way to ensure that everyone on a ride feels welcome. They keep an eye on stragglers, assist with mechanical problems and even SAG the weary if necessary. Such an outstanding ride leader receives special recognition in the form of the Peter LeGrand Good Shepherd Award. Peter LeGrand (1989) was the first recipient of the Good Shepherd Award, which was later renamed in his memory. This award is given annually.

Rookie Ride Leader of the Year AwardThis award is presented to an individual who, in the past calendar year, has led his or her first ride for the club and has shown a subsequent dedication to continuing to lead rides and following the Ride Leader Guidelines. This award is given annually.

Best Original Ride of the Year AwardAn award will be given to the member or members who have developed the best original ride of the year. In order to qualify, the ride should be a route unique to the last calendar year and should feature roads and/or areas not usually used on PPTC rides. This award is given annually.

Neal D. Molloy Volunteer AwardAn award will be given to the member or members who go above and beyond the call of duty in volunteering for the Club.  This award honors Neal Molloy (2010), a beloved club member, who shared his enthusiasm and energy with every rider he met and was dedicated to cycling and to PPTC.

Linda Tischer PPTC Lifetime AwardThe nominee must have demonstrated leadership, selfless dedication, effective contribution and personal commitment in support of PPTC interests, goals and ideals over a number of years. The nominee must have been a member for at least ten years and must be a current member to receive the award. The nomination should include evidence of personal involvement in the management, administration or financial affairs of PPTC measured by achievement while actively serving as a member, officer or committee chairperson, ride leader, coordinator or other Club position listed on page two of the Pedal Patter. Awardees receive a full lifetime membership.

(Please note: the Neal D. Molloy Volunteer and Linda Tischer PPTC Lifetime Awards are only presented to exceptional candidates and may not always be given.)

We Need Your Vote!



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s